Support Astromart! | Log In | Help
Astronomy NewsTelescope ClassifiedsTelescope AuctionsTelescope Articles & ArticlesTelescope Articles & ReviewsTelescope and Astronomy ForumsAstronomy Events Calendar
Review Categories
Search Reviews
Submit Review

User Name:

Password:

Save Login
 
New to Astromart?
Register an account...

Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Help & FAQ
Astronomy Links
User Profiles
Top Users List
Sponsors
Supporters
RSS Feeds

Home > Reviews > Mounts > Equatorial

Jump To:

Upgrade the losmandy G11 = super mount
By Michael Tzukran 12/9/2017
Losmandy G11 Gemimi 2 Improvement Modification

Orion Sirius go-to German equatorial mount
By John MacDonough 1/25/2014
A heavier-than-expected quick-look scope required a larger-than-expected mount.

New Life For An Older Mount
By Walter Hamler 9/7/2013
For years I lusted after the Ed Byers products. Then I came across one and now the dream is a reality.....!

Review of the Vixen SXD2 Equatorial Mount with Starbook Ten
By Chris Thomasel 5/27/2013
The new and improved Sphinx

Orion SkyView Pro, update
By John MacDonough 2/19/2013
Since 2008 I've added the go-to upgrade kit...

Losmandy Backslash Adjustment
By Scott Mefferd 6/21/2012
Proper worm adjustment is critical and it is not that hard to do.

Losmandy Backslash Adjustment
By Scott Mefferd 5/5/2012
Proper worm adjustment is critical

Losmandy backlash adjustment and worm alignment
By Scott Mefferd 6/9/2010
It's not as hard as you think!

A vibration-free Vixen SkySensor 2000 PC setup
By Andrew Kim 2/3/2010
There are no good vibrations when it comes to a mount. My experience with several weeks of trying to deal with noise and vibrations boil down to a simple modification you can do in 15 minutes!

Celstron CG-5 GT First Impressions
By Tony Aguire 9/30/2009
Was it worth selling my Ultim 8 forks to get a new GOTO?

Turbocharging the Losmandy G11: 3.5 arc seconds peak to peak
By Greg Nowell 6/24/2008
Ovision's new aftermarket worm makes almost any new or used G11 competitive with mounts at 3x the price in most imaging applications. The flexibility in configurations (servo go-to, stepper systems, manual or digital setting circles), snazzy aftermarket options such as the Berlebach tripod, and a large user base keep this model suprisingly flexible. The Ovision aftermarket worm may vault this well-known mount into a top-contender in its weight class for high performance imaging applications.

CG5 mount (aka EQ5)
By davide marzotto 4/9/2008
A low cost mount which could give you big satisfaction!

Orion SkyView Pro GEM and Intelliscope DSC
By John MacDonough 4/8/2008
I purchased these products to serve as my "grab-and-go" solution.

Meade LXD 750
By Ed Moreno 3/13/2008
Superduty Mount???? Or washed up "Has Been?"

Celestron CI-700: A Bargain Priced Equatorial Mount
By Clayton Cramer 12/11/2007
Need capacity at a reasonable price? Here's an American-made bargain on the used market.

Vixen Polaris
By Ed Moreno 8/16/2006
A case of having your cake… And eating it too…

Celestron CGE mount
By john dull 7/6/2006
Excellent mount, nice price

Celestron CGE Mount
By Ed Moreno 1/26/2006
Marching across the Sky

Paramount ME for the Semi-Portable Observatory
By Don Barar 10/18/2005

The NJP Temma 2 Goto Mount from Takahashi
By Morgan Spangle 9/13/2005
A heavyweight contender for visual or astrophotography that you can own now...

LXD650 Bang for Buck or Bust?
By Don Joski 8/26/2005
There was a buzz on astro sites that Meade outlet was selling a LXD650/102ED package that included a goto computer for $1,000 less than Meade dealers. Interesting I thought. I had just sold a C9.25 and GM8. Could I possibly go from a big scope to a little scope? No way, that is, unless the little scope's mount could carry a big scope. I posted a question in the forum - can the LXD650 handle a 9.25" SCT? I got a couple of replies. Both said it would carry a C9.25, better than a GM8, and might even handle an 11" SCT. Sold.

EQ6 SkyScan
By Ed Moreno 6/28/2005
Bargain Go-To heavy-weight mount?

Comparing The CI-700 and G-11 Tripods
By Clayton Cramer 3/28/2005
The CI-700 and G-11 tripods, at first glance, are quite similar. A side-by-side comparison quickly demonstrates the superiority of the G-11--but the CI-700, at its current market price, is still something of a bargain for upgrading GM-8 mounts.

ASTROKITS LXD55 Adapter Plates
By Mike Curnutt 10/7/2004
An inexpensive, yet very functional and stable solution to end eyepiece wiggles when using medium size Equatorial Mounts by using an AstroMart Sponsor's Adapter for LXD55 GoTo or other CG5 Clones to mount to a Heavier Duty Tripod.

In Defense of the Poor Meade LXD 55
By Art Ahrens 9/21/2004
Meade Suckered Us into Buying Overloaded Mounts!!!, or Does the LXD 55 Deserve its Bad Name?

The Riddle of the Sphinx
By Chuck Zdeb 6/29/2004
You’ve seen the ads in the magazines or on the Web for Vixen’s latest mount, the Sphinx. It’s a Go-to mount with a hand controller that doubles as a computerized star chart. Is it a step forward or a gimmick? Does it work, and if so, how well? Click the link and see…

Funding Member
Funding Member
Telescopes, Astronomy,
Binoculars


Advanced Search...

All times are in (GMT-8:00) Pacific Standard Time Zone  
Astronomy News | Telecope Classifieds | Telescope Auctions | Telescope Reviews | Telescopes | Telescope and Astronomy Forums | My Account | Help | RSS