Northern Lights Over GA

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Is there really any difference?

Started by cth3, 12/29/2004 03:56PM
Posted 12/29/2004 03:56PM Opening Post
I am relatively new to the hobby, but have some experience. After much review and discusion (including great comments from another Astromart forum) I have settled on an 8" Dob. Now the question is "which one?" I'm considering the Orion, Hardin and Discovery PDHQ. Are the optics comparable? Is there any significant advantage of one over the other? In particular, why is the Discovery so much more?
Posted 12/29/2004 04:02PM #1
>In particular, why is the Discovery so much more?<

More consistent optical quality, domestic manufacture, also higher-grade componentry (focuser etc.) -- the other two are chinese imports.
Posted 12/30/2004 06:24PM #2
Here are the differences on the PDHQ.

Better construction of the mount (plywood vs particle board, lighter stronger and more water resistant).

2 inch Crayford focuser (quite nice).

Pyrex mirror substrate.

Better quality control on the primary and secondary mirror. You are sure of a very good mirror vs. likely to get a very good mirror.